Elizabeth Belding

Photo of Elizabeth Belding
Computer Science



Professor, Department of Computer Science; Director, Mobility Management and Networking (MOMENT) Laboratory


Elizabeth Belding is a Professor of Computer Science at UC Santa Barbara. Her research focuses on mobile networking in the areas of multimedia, monitoring, advanced service support, and solutions for developing and underdeveloped regions. She is the founder and director of the Mobility Management and Networking (MOMENT) Laboratory, has authored more than 100 technical papers, and has served on more than 60 program committees for networking conferences. Elizabeth served as the TPC Co-Chair of ACM MobiCom 2005, IEEE SECON 2005, and ACM MobiHoc 2007, and as the TPC Area Chair of IEEE Infocom 2008. She is currently on the steering committee of the ACM Networked Systems in Developing Regions (NSDR) Workshop and the editorial board of the IEEE Pervasive Magazine and IEEE Transactions on Networking. Elizabeth is the recipient of an NSF CAREER Award, and a 2002 MIT Technology Review 100 award, awarded to the world’s top young investigators. She is an ACM Distinguished Scientist and an IEEE Fellow. She also received the 2012 UCSB Outstanding Graduate Mentor Award.


wireless networks; mobile networks; network measurement and performance analysis; information and communication technologies for development (ICTD); and health, learning and technology


Veljko Pejovic, David L. Johnson, Mariya Zheleva, Elizabeth Belding, Lisa Parks and Gertjan van Stam. The Bandwidth Divide: Obstacles to Efficient Broadband Adoption in Rural Sub-Saharan Africa.  International Journal of Communications, 6, 2012, 2467-2491. 

Mariya Zheleva, Arghyadip Paul, David L. Johnson and Elizabeth Belding. Kwiizya: Local Cellular Network Services in Remote Areas.  ACM MobiSys, Taipei, Taiwan, June 2013.

Mariya Zheleva, Paul Schmitt, Morgan Vigil and Elizabeth Belding. The Increased Bandwidth Fallacy: Performance and Usage in Rural Zambia.  ACM DEV, Cape Town, South Africa, December 2013.